The Pope Francis Multi Academy Trust has been established by the Archbishop of Liverpool to provide the very best Catholic education for the young people in our schools.

The Trust is supported by the Archdiocese of Liverpool Secondary School Improvement Trust (ALSSIT).

ALSSIT has been formed by the thirty five Secondary Schools and two 6th Form Colleges within the Archdiocese of Liverpool with a focus on school improvement, collaboration, school to school support and educational excellence through world class professional development.


Each of the schools in the Pope Francis Multi Academy Trust is a Catholic school with a distinctive Catholic identity with their own particular ethos. Our schools include:

  • Saint Edmund Arrowsmith Catholic Academy joined the Pope Francis Multi Academy Trust on 1st May 2021.
  • The Salesian Academy of St John Bosco ( the new name of Savio Salesian College) will join the Pope Francis Multi Academy Trust following discussions with the Department for Education concerning future investment into the school.